About Us

Wada Na Todo Abhiyan is a national campaign to hold the government accountable for its promise to end Poverty, Social Exclusion & Discrimination.

Wada Na Todo Abhiyan emerged from the consensus among human rights activists and social action groups who were part of the World Social Forum 2004 (Mumbai), aimed to create an environment through forceful, focused and concerted effort and try to make a difference in India where one-fourth of the world’s poor exist and they continuously experience intense deprivation from opportunities to learn, live and work in dignity.

We aim to do this by monitoring the promises made by the government to meet the objectives set in the UN Millennium Declaration (2000), the National Development Goals and the National Common Minimum Program (2004-09) with a special focus on the Right to Liveihood, Health & Education.

We work to ensure that the concerns and aspirations of Dalits, Adivasis, Nomadic Tribes, Women, Children, Youth and the Differently Abled are mainstreamed across programs, policies and development goals of the central and state governments


Campaign Co-ordination Group

Wada Na Todo Abhiyan is governed by a Campaign Co-ordination Group (CCG) consisting of a wide range of grassroots organizations, people’s movements, advocacy and resource organizations. The CCG is responsible for developing the policies, agenda and direction of the Abhiyan. Currently there are 150 organizations that form the Campaign Co-ordination Group. Mr. Paul Divakar, NCDHR is the elected Convener of the CCG.

View the List of CCG Members

Campaign Steering Group

The Campaign Steering Group functions as the Executive Committee of the Abhiyan. It comprises of representatives of the Campaign Co-ordination Group, who are elected to the Steering Group. Mr. Datta Patil, Executive Director of YUVA Rural, Nagpur and Ms. Richa Singh from Centre for Democracy and Social Action (CDSA) are currently the Conveners of the Campaign Steering Group.

View the List of CSG Members

Thematic Action Group

The idea of four Thematic Action Groups (TAGs) on Health, Education, Livelihoods and Social Exclusion emerged from the discussions of the Campaign Co-ordination Group held across 2006. The TAGs were seen as an opportunity to “bring element of specialization for effective advocacy on behalf of the campaign” and to “identify specialized agencies in selective areas for strengthening quality support to the campaign.”

View the List of TAG Members

Campaign Secretariat

The Campaign Secretariat implements the daily operations of the Campaign, and supports the functioning of the different groups and bodies formed through the CCG.

Campaign Secretariat Team Members